7 Comments

Review: Wildfire (Everealm book #2) by J D Wright

SYNOPSIS:
The journey through Everealm continues as new evil arrives, casting mayhem about the realm. While war and wildfire are causing disorder, Bree and Rowan find that assistance from the fairies isn’t what they imagined. As Dagan and Sidonie seek answers to uncover the truth about her family and her magic, they are plagued with even more mystery to unveil. As the wildfire burns, who will be left standing in the ashes?

 

 

A big thank you to the author and Netgalley for my free copy in exchange for an honest review.

I picked this book by virtue of its cover, again… I adore the cover art and dresses on these books! I’m not ashamed to admit that I would do some fairly sketchy things to have a dress like that and occasion to wear it.

 

This book is the second in the Everealm series, the first of which I read not so long ago –

26632469

Everealm book 1

 

I was absolutely smitten with all of the characters right away from the first book and it just got better in this novel. The characters were all young adults who had, by fate, joined together to run the kingdom of Junacave – and now they’re a little older and getting into their stride.

Their bonds to each other have deepened and they’re ready to start fighting back against the darker forces working outside their kingdom. I’m still loving the relationship between Dagan the grumpy wizard and Sidonie the warrior sorceress, the two of them still have a lot to face together and I can’t wait to see how they cope.

What I particularly like about this series is that all the characters are exceptionally well developed, but also flawed. Most of them are brutally stubborn but they all take care of each other, despite their own hard headedness and opposing opinions. The number of main characters is definitely growing, but there’s enough backstory and explanation between each one and how they tie in to the story that you don’t have any problems following.

In this book, we also got PIXIES!!! I got really excited about this because up until now the magic has been mostly refined to passing acquaintances with human formed fairies and wizards but no, now we have cute little floating pixies. I can’t express how happy this made me, while at the same time not quite sure why I was so excited…

We also became better acquainted with the fae and their mythology, which leads me to believe that the cast of this series is going to become more diverse and fun as it goes along. I’m a sucker for all things mythology, as you’ve probably picked up on by now, and the imagination and magic the author puts into her work makes it all so much more enjoyable.

I’m officially hooked on this series now and will be following it to the bitter end. It’s a very comfortable read which at first glance may come across as a YA novel as it’s so easy to get into, however read at your own peril if you blush easily…. there’s quite a lot of sexy times going on in Junacave these days!

 

7 comments on “Review: Wildfire (Everealm book #2) by J D Wright

  1. So glad you liked it! I would be happy to send you an ecopy of Blood Moon, if you’re interested in continuing the series. πŸ™‚ I won’t be adding the third book to NetGalley anytime soon, if at all, but am happy to offer review copies to anyone who is interested.

    P.S. I love the cover gowns so much that I may use them for the new series’ covers, too! I just can’t seem to avoid it. LOL.

    ~J.D.

    Like

  2. Only some? LOL I totally agree that the dresses are amazing. I think I would do a few things to them as well. I think the only thing I would not like as much would be a corset, though it would help with my posture, I think. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment