2 Comments

Review: The Bride Wore Brains by Emily Wesley Stringer

27246628

4 stars

 

 

Synopsis:

Claire’s perfect wedding takes a horrific turn when her guests start turning into zombies. It’s up to her best friend, Kat and a motley crew of wisecracking misfits to save the day.

 

 


Goodreads

Amazon


This book really did it for me. I have finally found a situation in which I love wedding details – the author has planned a wedding right down to the bouquet and pink satin bridesmaid shoes, then trashed it all with zombies and a chainsaw. Exquisite!

I sometimes think I’d make an awesome wedding planner, I enjoy the details like colour schemes and making the cake frosting match the colour of the boquets and stupid crap like that…. I just don’t want the hassle or expense of an actual wedding. This allowed me to indulge in my enjoyment of wedding arrangements but all the squishy stuff involved leaking brain matter rather than real human emotions.

The story was short and utterly compelling, I really enjoyed reading this little gem and would absolutely read any other books written by this author in the future. This little beauty will be staying on my kindle for a re-read at a later date, it’s the perfect book to crack out when you have a spare moment and don’t have time to emotionally invest in characters. This book is funny, violent, gory fun.

We follow events through the eyes of Kat, the stressed out maid of honour. She is badass, ready to do what needs to be done and skips the wearisome ‘this can’t be happening’ stage and jumps right in to killing wedding guests and catering staff.

I found this book on Twitter, the cover art drew me in initially (mega props to the person responsible for the cover design) and then the title of the book sealed the deal. I would definitely consider buying a print copy of this book if it became available, for the sake of gorying up my bookshelf.

pexels-photo-large

It was a beautiful combination of humour and zombie horror/action – I would recommend it to anyone looking for a refreshing read with a bit of gratuitous gore.

**Thank you to the author for a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review**
2 comments on “Review: The Bride Wore Brains by Emily Wesley Stringer

Leave a Reply

