4 Comments

Sublime Muppets

I can’t remember the backstory here but last week I had an amazing idea. Maybe the best I’ve ever had.

All dark, heavy classic novels should have Muppet adaptations.

 

I think this idea sprung forth after my admitting that I’d never finished Crime and Punishment (regarding that…. I’m clearly waiting for my new paperback copy to arrive from Amazon. I WILL BE A WHIZZ KID, DAMMIT!), and thinking that I used to find watching film adaptations useful before working my way through something difficult.

But yes, anyways – Jim Henson Muppet adaptations of adult novels (not those kind of ‘adult’ novels, you sicko). I have compiled a list of books I think would absolutely rock in Muppet form.

  1. Moby Dick – Herman Melville

    I’ve never managed to finish this book (or start it, for that matter) but I know that many a person struggled to get through this stodgetastic work of fiction, so what could be more useful? A giant felt white whale in a fish tank, hunted by Captain Kermie!

    Legend suggests that this film might already exist somewhere, but I can’t find it for love nor money!

  2. Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevski

From the little I recall, this would make a dark, dark kids film – but what better way to explore the dark nature of man than with puppets and singing?

I can almost guarantee that I’d finish the book if I saw this version first!

 

3. Lord of the Flies – William Golding

This one’s been really popular with anyone I mentioned my idea to, I think we all want to see puppet children turn on one another on a desert island. Think Treasure Island, but with children and a conch.

 

 

4. Interview with a Vampire – Anne Rice

I like that idea for a number of reasons, not least the absurdity of it. A story based on sex, blood, angst, immortality and great hair. Who could do this book more justice? FotorCreated

 

5. War of the World – H.G. Wells

I’m not suggesting that we remake all of Tom Cruise’s films and replace him with a puppet, except that that is exactly what we should do.

6. Day of the Triffids – John Wyndham

Because why. The. F*. Not.

So my reasoning is a little sparse – it was mostly just the images that I could see in my mind – the Triffid vines made out of polystyrene and felt, an angry Russian frog, Tom Cruise being replaced by puppets.

What books do you think would be awesome as Muppet adaptations?

4 comments on “Sublime Muppets

  1. Yes, that is a great list of potential Muppet Movie adaptations. It’s hard to pick a fav from your list. Probably the top 2 I would want to see would be Moby Dick (because that book was BORING and the Muppets would probably make it absolutely hilarious) and Lord of the Flies, one of my fav classic books. There are So many other books that come to mind. The Princess Bride, The Three Musketeers, Count of Monte Cristo, Frankenstein, Tom Sawyer, Huck Finn…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a fun post to read! It made me think about the episode of The Simpsons when Troy McClure is playing a part in which he asks Miss Piggy for her “dainty hoof in marriage,” and Kermit tries to crash the proposal!

    I also wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. There are so many reviewers that go unrecognized, and I thought it would be cool if I recognized other reviewers for their hard work. Hopefully this brightens your day a bit; however, if you cannot get to this right away, I understand. In fact, it took me several months before I could write about the award!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

