Leave a comment

Review: Miranda’s Rights (Paranormal Detectives Book #2) by Lily Luchesi

27798885

Vamptasy Publishing

4 stars

Synopsis:

The dead don’t always rest easy…
Retired detective, Danny Mancini, is haunted by nightmares after he found out that paranormal creatures exist. All he wants is to forget them…especially a certain half-vampire. When cursed werewolves show up trying to kill him, he is forced to go back to the Paranormal Investigative Division for help against a powerful old enemy. What he was not expecting was a dead ex showing back up after twenty-six years.

 

 


Goodreads

Amazon


Here’s the sequel to Stake-Out , the book that I reviewed earlier this week and hell, if it isn’t another stunning cover!

This book came on in leaps and bounds from the last one, Luchesi has developed her writing voice and brings the story to life. The storyline is a classic but it appeals to both my inner romantic and my gore fiend (beasties get their hearts ripped out. Literally).

The pace of this book is excellent, it picks up directly from where the last book left off but now adds some more depth and history to both of the main characters, Danny and Angelica, the history that I was dying to know after being pulled in from the beginning of the lfirst novel. We learn about their past loves and some of Angelica’s early years, though I personally can’t wait to hear more about Danny’s upbringing and how he came to be where he is now.

The relationship between the two characters blossoms but this time I enjoyed the added finesse to proceedings, their interactions were more complex and seductive and I now desperately hope they get their happy ending!

The ending of this book was my favourite part (not in a bad way!), it was a wonderfully neat cliffhanger which has me looking forward to the next installment where we’ll be seeing a lot more of the denizens of hell and where they fit into the mythology of this world. I’m a huge fan of demons in literature so I can’t wait to read on.

** Thank you to the author for a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review**

Leave a comment