10 Comments

Review: Shizzle Inc by Ana Spoke

7/10

Synopsis:

Isa Maxwell is an average busty blonde, a recent graduate of a community college, and rap-loving, gun-toting, self-proclaimed badass. More than anything else, Isa wants to be discovered, so that she can solve her financial woes and win back Brad, the love of her life.
Thanks to her clumsiness, street smarts, and an unbelievable bit of luck, Isa lands a dream job at Shizzle, Inc. Things start to look up when Mr. Hue, the playboy billionaire owner of Shizzle, Inc takes Isa under his wing. Isa even gets a number of new love interests, but all is not what it seems. In fact, absolutely nothing is what it seems.
Can Isa survive the tough world of corporate intrigue and constant looming bodily harm? Or will her efforts be the end of Shizzle, Inc and possibly her life?

First things first, I absolutely adore the cover of this book. Sod it, I’m not afraid to admit that I judged this book by its cover and I was totally right to do so, for reasons I’ll explain in a sec.

Secondly, this book was brought to my attention by the author via her own blog , asking for folk who’d read her book to post up reviews on Amazon and Goodreads. I was just being nosy and had a look on Amazon to read the blurb and immediately decided to buy it based on the cover alone, but I also realised that ‘Spoke’ was actually Ana’s surname and not just a blog handle – so I’m a little bit embarrassed on that one and clearly need to start paying more attention.

Right, down to the nitty gritty – this story wasn’t the kind of thing that I’d usually read, I do seem to spend most of my time reading fantasy/horror/classics but it’s good for the soul to branch out occasionally.

This did have the spirit of the debut novel about it, not only are you following the development of the story and the characters, you can actually follow the development of the author along the way which is something I find particularly cool in indie novels and films.
You can spot the point at which the author got into her stride and the whole book flows from that point on.

The story itself is completely eccentric and utterly hilarious, a parody of a young woman starting her career in a giant corporation and the general shenanigans she gets up to as the protege of the even more eccentric billionaire owner of the company.

It’s exceptionally fast paced, so hang on to your hat – but despite the unconventional characters, you still find that Isa has a very recognisable kind of relationship with her family and friends. Her parents want what’s best for her but have no idea how to go about providing this, her sister wishes she was closer to her but is too busy raising her nutty twin sons and her best friend loves her, but is currently busy building fake bombs with ping pong balls. You know, standard stuff.

The last 15ish% of the book (I love Kindle stats) is a lot calmer, Isa has learnt a lot about the world and starts making things happen instead of just letting them happen to her, which I think means that any subsequent books she stars in are going to be very interesting!

“If life really were like a box of chocolates, then every now and then, when you bit into one, there’d be a turd inside” – Isa Maxwell, Shizzle Inc. describing my thoughts about last week exactly.

10 comments on “Review: Shizzle Inc by Ana Spoke

  1. Reblogged this on AnaSpoke.com and commented:
    Just woke up to another surprise review of Shizzle, Inc – thank you, NiaLisabeth!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A great review, Nia, although now I don’t know how to write my own review of Shizzle without copying yours, as it accord so totally with my thinking!

    Initially, I checked out the book because Ana starting following my blog. Like you, it’s not my usual genre of book as I’m mostly into fantasy, science fiction, and crime thrillers, but I love the cover. Also, I felt in need of reading something funny, as the world is in a pretty grim state just now.

    Being an eccentric myself (but not quite in the same way as Isa), I did find it extremely funny, and I’m a bit choosy about humour.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

