Leave a comment

Fallout Shelter really is addictive…

I’d like to say that playing this damn app isn’t the only reason I haven’t written anything in over a week, but it pretty much is.

I’ve also been for a long walk in a forest, read my way halfway through ‘Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell’ and booked my first ever snowboarding course (it’s actually 31degrees outside, I am not built for this kind of heat) but mostly, it’s been this app. As there’s no way to ‘complete’ it, we’ll just have to live in the hope that I’ll get bored with it soon and move on to more sociable activities.

Regarding my recent book choice, I’m reading Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke as it was recently turned into an exceptionally popular BBC drama. I haven’t seen the programme but will be diving into it as soon as I’ve finished the book, I’m desperately avoiding Twitter at the moment too because Bloomsbury, the publisher, keeps tweeting bloody spoilers! I know the book’s been out for over a decade and now a significant proportion of the British populous has now seen the show but c’mon…..

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell

I’m going to throw some food together now in true bookreader fashion (something easy you can eat one handed from a deep bowl, so you don’t spill anything on your pages) and finish off this book! Only 506 pages to go….

“Such nonsense!” declared Dr Greysteel. “Whoever heard of cats doing anything useful!”
“Except for staring at one in a supercilious manner,” said Strange. “That has a sort of moral usefulness, I suppose, in making one feel uncomfortable and encouraging sober reflection upon one’s imperfections.”
Susanna Clarke, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell

Leave a Reply

