Leave a comment

Fallout Shelter: Making It Possible To Ignore Anyone, Anywhere

I’ve had this app on my phone for almost a week now and have now lost all need for human interaction – all I need is a 50s style diner, water supply and a power station to fuel it all…

When I downloaded this game, I thought it was going to be Tiny Tower all over again – this is not a bad thing by any stretch of the imagination, that game claimed over a year of my life! With Tiny Tower you add floor after floor to your tower, without any risk to the well-being of your bitizens (that’s what they’re called!), although this is satisfying and therapeutic, it does lack a certain challenge and need for strategy.

Fallout Shelter definitely can’t be accused of being too easy, my first Vault crashed and burnt before the end of my first day playing. The second one has lasted about 4 days but I’m now I’m undergoing a massive radroach infestation and am doomed to annihilation before too long.

In my first vault I seemed to be massively unlucky when it came to weaponry, defenses and the constant knocking of raiders on my poorly protected front door. My second time around, I had a massive bounty of weapons and strong vault dwellers – it was all going so well before the roaches multiplied! I’m even wondering if they get stronger as the game goes along….

Once you’ve built up your population a bit, the dwellers start suffering from radiation sickness and losing health while you’re inactive – not too bad if you have enough caps to get your science labs built up in time. Each different kind of room offers different perks, so some strategy is required to get the most from them all – strategy that I have yet to master.

By building living quarters for your dwellers, you can get them to procreate – they’re pretty shameless little nuclear winter survivors, these guys were even getting jiggy while the creepy child with a comb over looks on:

Displaying image1.PNG

I do wonder how this population maintains itself though, it seems to be a community based on hilarious insincerity:

Displaying image2.PNG

I think I’m probably going to ditch my second attempt soon as see if I can apply what I’ve learnt to the next generation. This is one of the best features of this game, you can run 3 separate vaults at the same time or even delete and replace failed vaults (I have a feeling that this is going to come in handy).

I can’t recommend this game enough really, you can put as little or as much time into it as you like and it is unfailingly hilarious- plus free on the app store, so hop to it if you haven’t already!

“Is that a hand growing out of my chest?!” – Cashew Nutt, first born native dweller of Vault 311

Leave a Reply

