2 Comments

Treasure Trove: Part 1

Displaying IMG_1244.JPG

This weekend, I went to my mother’s house to clear up some of my book collection – I’m glad I did, as it seems that a family of mice with literary interest were nesting amongst the Pratchetts.

Very nice mice, mind you- not so much as a nibble on any of the books. A chewed up bookmark and some delightful droppings to clear up but they hadn’t touched the books themselves.

I’ve parted with a great many books over the years, to charity shops mostly- but I’m finally down to the books that I can’t bear to part with. It’s just a shame that they number in their dozens and take up a hell of a lot of space but if you consider that each book contains an entire universe- it really isn’t that much space! Or so I tell myself anyways.

I’ve brought a couple of crates of them back to my current house, though I’m going to have to come up with a long term plan for storage rather than just leaving them sitting in the middle of my bedroom. Rummaging through them is like Christmas, seeing books that I love but forgot I owned- it’s like being gifted books by someone who shares your exact tastes!

Here are the 6 I’m most looking forward to re-reading from this selection:

1)  Pride and Prejudice and Zombies – Seth Grahame Smith & Jane Austen

5899779

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5899779-pride-and-prejudice-and-zombies

I love this book for the same reason I love my B-movies, it’s absolutely ridiculous but the author has put so much love and craft into this work to make the ridiculousness fit in alongside the original text.

2) Battle Royale – Koushun Takami

Battle Royale

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/57891.Battle_Royale?from_search=true&search_version=service

I saw the film before reading this book and rather wish I hadn’t- this book has so much more detail and background to it than the film. This also started my love for Japanese literature, an area I can’t wait to explore further.

3) We Need To Talk About Kevin – Lionel Shriver

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/80660.We_Need_to_Talk_About_Kevin?from_search=true&search_version=service

The film was good. Tilda Swinton was outstanding, but this book went so far beyond that. I love books about abnormal psychology at the best of times (due to being a bit morbidly weird) but reading a book from the mother’s perspective is something else entirely. I can’t recommend this book enough to anyone,

4) Nation – Terry Pratchett

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2855034-nation?from_search=true&search_version=service

Shame on me, I don’t actually remember very much about this book at all. I’m kind of glad that I can forget stories so completely that reading them again feels like the first time, but I do remember impressions and I remember that I loved this book, that the characters and the world completely gripped me. It seems so stupid that I can’t remember the story, but I’m dying to read it again.

5) Snow Flower and the Secret Fan – Lisa See

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1103.Snow_Flower_and_the_Secret_Fan?from_search=true&search_version=service

This is another book I don’t remember much about, but I remember loving the strong bond between the characters. I’m a fan of this kind of literature because there’s a quiet dignity to this sort of story telling, about the lives of women whose stories weren’t told at the time of their occurence. Google has just informed me that there is a film of this book now (it’s probably been out for ages right under my nose) so I’ll be watching that as soon as I’m done reading it again!

6) The Snow Garden – Christopher Rice

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23222522-the-snow-garden?from_search=true&search_version=service

Yet another book I can’t remember the plotline of and I’m particularly careful not to think too hard about this one because I remember it being a mystery, I don’t want to spoil it for myself! I ordered this book from amazon on a speedy delivery after I saw Anne Rice promoting her son’s work on her Facebook page and felt the desperate urge to sample the goods!

I’ll be reading these books over the next few weeks, anyone else read these? Would love to have recommendations based on these books if you have any ideas- I feel a library expansion coming on!

2 comments on “Treasure Trove: Part 1

  1. I haven’t read any of the books you listed, but my husband has a copy of Pride and Prejudice and Zombie’s that’s been on our bookshelf for a while. The Snow Flower book looks amazing! Enjoy. 🙂

    Like

    • I will, thanks! They’re all great in their own way but Nation will be the first Pratchett I’ve read since the great man passed away so it’ll be quite sad.

      I love looking at my books! So proud of them all

      Like

Leave a Reply

