Leave a comment

Nia’s Not A Knitter

Ah, knitting. I don’t know if I’m terrible at it because I’m left handed or because I have a black chasm of doom where my ability to co-ordinate needles and yarn should be.

I tried to learn for the first time when I was in high school, but after about an hour, several stab wounds and a burning ball of wool, I decided that knitting was not for me and I would never, ever, ever try to knit again.

The problem with this is that that I don’t like not being able to do things, personal limitations make me determined to try harder and figure it out. So about a decade later, my best friend’s mum – the most patient woman in the world- sat me down and showed me how to knit.

It all sounds so easy, but it took a while to realise that being left handed meant that it just didn’t look right to me (pun intended) – it took me about 3 balls of yarn, chunky kiddie knitting needles and a series of YouTube videos to get it right (pun intended again, booyah!).

My first attempt was an abomination with frustration embedded in each stitch. It should have been a square, but was in fact a trapezium of my discontent.

The picture in this post shows attempt 5, it may even be a scarf one day.

I think the main thing I learnt from this enterprise was that if you lack natural talent, working your ass off can still yield some acceptable results. What I did realise pretty late in the day is that although knitting is relaxing once you get the hang of it – I actually really dislike knitwear and this endeavour is completely useless unless the world is struck by a tragic scarf shortage!

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/236x/07/42/c8/0742c82e7add145ec9792cabf907d721.jpg

Leave a Reply

