Leave a comment

My First Poetry Slam

This is my idea of poetry!

Wil

My first poetry slam was at a local arts venue with about 40-60 people. I went with a friend just to watch, but we were urged to put our names in to read our own poetry. I was not a poet, but part of me wanted to be, so I signed up not knowing what I would say. I was very nervous, but by the time we had taken our seats, I knew exactly what poem I would go with. It was short and easy to remember, and I felt it told a lot about me. Once I had committed to it, there was no going back. No matter how nervous I felt.

The lights went out except for the spotlight on the stage. The first poem was bland and the second was light-hearted. Not so intimidating, though at the time I was definitely still not beyond stage fright (I’ve stood on…

View original post 359 more words

Leave a Reply

